Part 145 Camo+
Service Center Pilatus PC-12 & PC-24

Continuing airworthiness

Continuing airworthiness

Continuing airworthiness more commonly called “Airworthiness Monitoring”

The European Civil Aviation – EASA – now requires the national authorities to harmonize the rules of civil aviation within the 27 EU member countries as well as Switzerland, Iceland and Norway.

Among the decisions a measure was defined: The continuing airworthiness of an aircraft.

Regulation No. 2041/2003 of the European Commission (Official Journal of the European Union of 28 November 2003).

This set is totally independent of the maintenance of the equipment Part 145 and for this purpose it has been created parts “G” and “G+ I”.

This is the “administrative” follow-up of the aircraft and the obligations attached to the continuing airworthiness.

Part "G"

The “G” approval holder is enabled to ensure the continued airworthiness (or continuing airworthiness) of the aircrafts listed in his/her “rating”.

Part "G+I"

The “G+ I” approval holder is enabled to monitor the airworthiness and accomplish the airworthiness REVIEWS of the aircrafts listed in his/her “rating”.
This operation is conducted every three years (e.g. CDN renewal).
Moreover, the “G+ I” can by itself “Frenchify” any aircraft registered in the EU

So, these three parts are totally independent from one another. Therefore, some workshops have exclusively chosen the Part 145, others Part 145 and “G” and some Part 145 and “G+ I”, the latter being the case in our workshop.

It is important to note that in order to appreciate these provisions, the aircraft owner is responsible for the airworthiness of his/her aircraft, consequently it can entrust the “G” certified body of his/her choice. For instance, the aircraft may be maintained in France and the airworthiness monitoring entrusted to a “G” body based in Portugal and Lithuania, but please note that many complications lay ahead!